VERIFIED SOLUTIONi




Presets on your meter

UPDATED: 19 June 2015

A Preset is a snapshot of commonly-used meter setting that allows you to easily recall the properties you use most often. Assigning a preset, such as Domestic standard letter, saves time and ensures accuracy in your mailings.

IMPORTANT: The Single-Piece Domestic standard Letter Stamp rate is 1 dollar for a single stamp; 85-cents per stamps in booklets ($1.00; $0.85). However, postage meters provide the benefit of a discount for business letter mail. The price becomes 77-cents with the discount. 

Select your meter from the following list for detailed instructions about setting your presets:


 mailstation™, mailstation2™ (K700, K7EC, K7C2)


 DM100i, DM125™ (P7EC, PREC)


DM300C™, DM400C™, DM475™ (G91)


DM500™, DM800™, DM800i™ DM900™, DM1000™, DM1100™, DM Infinity™ (1DEC, 1D04, 1CEC, 1TEC, 1T04,)


Connect+™ Series (MSF1, MSF2, MSF3)


Presets and Postal Rate Change
After you perform a postage rate update, your presets may need to be updated.  If your presets are class-based and the rates for that class have changed, the values will be accurate on the effective date of the change. If you saved any presets by keying in a postage amount instead of selecting a mail class then you must manually change that preset. 

TIP:  It is always recommended to select mail class-based preset so you never have to remember to update them when rates change.

The Normal Preset
Normal presets are the default settings on your meter that you define with your most commonly used values, such as postage rates and class. These normal preset values will be the default state on your mailing system when it is first powered on or after it awakens from "sleep" mode. You cannot delete a normal preset, but you can assign it different values when needed.

Custom Presets
On many Pitney Bowes mailing machines, parameters for special mailings can be stored as Custom Presets. You can define up to ten custom settings for these mailing situations. 

TIP:  Write down all your stored presets, including any added services and account numbers you may have included as saved values.